PDA

View Full Version : defective Williams aluminum receiver (locking shoulder falls out)

DWS
October 05, 2001, 10:00
Yes, It's a 1st gen William's receiver. Locking shoulder was not very tight on the right side of receiver, But was on the left. I installed with it an arbor press. After cycling it by hand a dozen times the l.s. fell out enough to jam the action. Approximately 1/2" from bolt closing. I removed the lower (carefully) and jiggled the bolt enough to free it all up. The l.s is now a "drop in" installation, It also drops out when turned on the right side! Here's the measurements per a digital mic: L.S. receiver hole .298 Ends of l.s. .294 center of l.s. .258 I'm new to FALs, And from what I've read locking shoulders are different sizes in the center where contacting the b/c, not on the ends. Correct? Any suggestions on a fix? Please I don't want to send it back to Williams. I've put a little bit of work into the ejector block flaws. Plus I really don't want to wait 2 months for a remake. WECSOG masters, Please step forward. :confused:

Dirtfarmer
October 05, 2001, 10:13
No experience with it on FALs, but folks have been suggesting "Red" Loc-tite.
Goodwill,
-Dirtfarmer

DABTL
October 05, 2001, 10:51
Locktite will not work for more than a few rounds.

Jen has some oversized LS and the Aussies made some oversize for rebuilds. They MIGHT work.

The next items to work loose will be the ejector block pins. They can POSSIBLY be peened to prevent their exit.

I did not check to see if the fit on the lower was correct although it did not just jump out as a problem during the short time I had the receiver. The later models seem to be about .02 to .04 out of spec according to the reviews postings.

DWS
October 05, 2001, 10:55
Dirtfarmer, I'll try it AFTER I'm certain that is the right size l.s. My h.s. gauges should be here tomorrow. Thanks, Dave

Blood of Tyrants
October 05, 2001, 12:56