PDA

View Full Version : newbie problems - please help

sucking wind
March 30, 2002, 23:48
hello folks!!

i am an electrician, and fairly inclined mechanically. Ive sat back and read as much as i can possibly read about building a fal from this website, and other webpages

i have basically a new g1 fal - it has a new imbel receiver, a new argie barrel - and ive slowly replaced everything until it was ALL new (easier to sell to wife if done over a period of time)

well, i know a little bit about wood - so i went out and got some oak 1x8 and traced the outline of the imbel receiver - cut it out, and took a little more off of the radiuses where you dont want alot of pressure (ie the charging handle rails, the threaded part where the gas tube nut screws into etc)
slapped it together and bolted it to my 2500 pound work bench (57 chevy truck bed)
fit like a glove!

then i went and got a sears craftsman 27 mm open end wrench, and filed it to fit the barrel flats - filed it so close that it had to be pounded on with a hammer as suggested by a few posts

turned the new argie barrel into the receiver until it stopped hand tight, and it looked to me like it was 11 o clock as suggested - tried taking just a little off of the barrel face with a 50 grit sanding disk as suggested by crufflers build guide - it had park on it, and thought that it would be best if it didnt have park, so i turned the sanding disk with the receiver stub on it until all the park was gone.
then i put the barrel back in hand tight until it stopped at what looks like the 11 o clock position.

then i pounded the wrench onto the barrel flats - stood back - prayed - then went to crank on the wrench and wammo - the wrench came off, and rounded the flats a little on my beautiful NEW argie barrel :(