PDA

View Full Version : Imbel LS holes oversize?

Hermit River
March 23, 2002, 19:57
I have been searching and reading for 2 mo now, I don't ask many questions but would appreciate some help and info.
I have been collecting parts and tools for 2 imbel/imbel for 2 months now. I been patient wanting a park finish before assy but now my truck transfer case went. I am still minus the compressor and need to wait longer now so figured hell, I'll stick one together, shoot it then dissassemble and put a finish on when I can.

I believe you should only have to use the SMALLEST diameter LS on a new build not 2,3 or 4 sizes up and asked GP for a LS for a "new build" which he sent. The LS drops all the way in, turn it over drops out. Hmmmmmm other reciever? Same. That was a .294 dia shank. I grabbed another LS I had here with a .2965 dia shank and it also slides right in by hand but doesn't just drop out by itself. However this one even though it is oversize dia will work on the other reciever, (both have the same headspace). grabbed a .263 with a .2975 shank dia by mistake thinking it was a .2565 and drove it in no prob with a small ballpien. That was a good thing because it reminded me to pay better attention and clean my bench but more so let me know a fat shank will work once it is the right headspace.
I think there are 4 different dia shanks but don't know the numbers. These are both brand new imbel non gear logos? Ideas? Has anyone else had this prob? Is there a FAQ with the LS shank dia sizes someplace? Not only are both of these new recievers "out of spec?" they are not even the same hole dias between them. I thought these imbels were supposed to be the cats nads. Timing? imbel to imbel hand tight to 10 o clock on both, yup took some shaving. Hermit

HD99FXR3
March 23, 2002, 23:21