PDA

View Full Version : K31 for $89 - Is this good deal?

spatin
October 23, 2005, 22:42
I am still interested in a K31. I like Swiss watches so Swiss guns ought to be pretty good too.
I saw Classic Arms has some for $89.00. Is this for real? Are they selling reasonable quality K31 rifles for just $89.00?
Has anyone here actually bought one of these and what do you think about it?
Did it shoot OK as received or can I expect to have to get it fixed to make it work?
Is anyone on the files a K31 afficianado and can I bug you with a few questions on PM?
Sidney

Temp
October 23, 2005, 22:53
I'm no expert but here's what I do know.

They're very fine rifles with outstanding metalwork,.. real precision stuff. They're not, however, the most ergonomic rifle that you'll ever shoulder,... thick in the wrist and their length of pull is a bit on the short side. They have very good sights for a military rifle and the trigger pull is the best that I've ever felt on any military rifle.

Most of them have birch stocks although walnut isn't extremely rare. Unless you get very lucky, the buttstock is going to be dinged up pretty good.

Brass is available from Graf & Sons at reasonable prices and they utilize standard .308 diameter bullets. Surplus ammo is available, but it's a little on the pricey side.

They're very accurate,... they're a steal at $89.

Buy it.

Here's mine

http://www.falfiles.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=151218

DYNOMIKE
October 23, 2005, 22:56
$90.00-$100.00 is the going rate for these kick ass rifles.
You may get more info in another forum?
Like maybe "General Firearms", or C&R?
These really are great rifles though. If ya got the coin I would highly recommend one..

spatin
October 23, 2005, 23:00
Sorry about putting this in the wrong forum. If the moderator is reading this, please move this to the general firearms discussion.

Temp, thanks for your response. Are there any manuals available in English?