PDA

View Full Version : Sandhill Cranes

762 shooter
November 18, 2004, 21:38
I just got back from hunting sandhill cranes in southeast Arizona. Just south of Willcox to be exact. Anyone else familiar with these guys? Three days and not a bird for me. I was a bit frustrated by other hunters in the area. Biologists had to call the game warden on a few... I was using 3 inch #2s hoping to reach out and touch them but no luck. Couldn't have been my ghillie suit, I was invisible with that thing! Theres always next year.

skfullgun
November 18, 2004, 21:52
We have quite a few of them in the marshes of East Texas. I'm not an expert on the subject, but they are regulated as "waterfowl" and/or "migratory game birds" here and are subject to frequent changes in regulations and bag limits.

'TUDE
November 18, 2004, 21:59
I had no idea they were in AZ too. I tried to hunt for them in SE New Mexico around Loving and too at Monahans Sand Hills, TX. Big ole birds and they spook real easy. We were always waiting at water holes near milo fields, just before dusk to bag them.

MarkBall
November 18, 2004, 22:29
You want Sandhill Cranes?

Come to Nebraska. Between Grand Island & Hastings they over run the fields. I-80 slows for the people to gawk at em.

Tall skinny birds that are as dumb as a rock. Ugly too.

Com'on up & have fun. The challege is to get Snow Geese. They fly in right at sunset, by morning they are 5-10 miles away. I think they got night vision or something.

Mark

762 shooter
November 18, 2004, 22:34
I saw thousands and thousands of crane. And a few idiots. I had 2 fourteen year old morons ruin a shot for me as they fired from at least 250 yards away. They and their fathers were later reported to the game warden by the biologist in charge for shooting without a tag. Idiots. Some idiots sky busting and flaring the flocks off of us. Arrgh. I still had a good time and look forward to next year.
Thousands and thousands. Easily ten thousand cranes.

owlcreekok